Upcoming Meeting

Farmland Market Updates: Headwinds, Tailwinds and Implications for the Future

November 07, 2016
11:30 AM to 1:30 PM

Illini Center
200 S. Wacker Drive, 4th Floor
Chicago, IL 60606

Join us on Monday, November 7th, as we welcome Bruce Sherrick to discuss Farmland Market Updates: Headwinds, Tailwinds and Implications for the Future.

Read More

Register Here



Thank you to those that attended the latest Chicago Farmers' luncheon. On Monday, October 3rd, Steve Byrne, US Chemicals Equity Research Analyst at Merrill Lynch, whose research focus is primarily in fertilizer pricing, seed mix shifts, demand for crop protection chemicals, and the outlook for grower income levels, provided the Chicago Farmers with a global perspective on these ag inputs and our view on consolidation. To view his presentation, click here

The next luncheon is Monday, November 7th, at the Illini Center. We will welcome Dr. Bruce J. Sherrick, Marjorie and Jerry Fruin Professor of Land Economics and Director of the TIAA Center for Farmland Research in the Department of Agricultural and Consumer Economics at the University of Illinois, to discuss Long-Term Investment Trends. Click here to register today!


  • Discounted registration fees
  • Subscription to "The Chicago Farmer Magazine"
  • Networking opportunities with the agri-business community
  • Scholarship contribution to students in Agricultural Colleges

record number visit sunny Spain
on farm cultural study tour

A record breaking 25 travelers embarked on Iberian Airlines for a Study Tour of Central Spain in late September, enjoying perfect weather and a blend of farm visits and historic places. The week-long visit was capped by a “farewell dinner” at the Café de la Opera with performances by local singers during the meal. To read the full summary of the tour, click here

Member Area Login

Please click below to be taken to the Member Login screen.

Not a member yet? Click here to join



Dr. Gary Schnitkey, professor of Agricultural and Consumer Economics at the University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana, looked into his crystal ball and projected what 2017 might have in store for farmers regarding grain sales and cash rent leases at Chicago Farmers’ September 12, 2016, meeting. Nearly 100 people were in attendance for the informative afternoon.


Global affairs and consolidations are some of the factors that affect stocks. In particular, what impact do these elements have on chemical stocks that are related to agriculture? Steve Byrne, an equity analyst for Bank of America Merrill Lynch, brought his insight on this topic to The Chicago Farmers’ October meeting.